Prof. Tao TANG
Chair Professor
President of UIC
Curriculum Vitae

Professor Tang Tao received his PhD degree in 1989 from the University of Leeds. He joined Simon Fraser University in Vancouver in 1990 as an Assistant Professor, and was promoted to Associate Professor in 1992. He moved to Hong Kong Baptist University in 1998, and was promoted to Chair Professor in 2003. He moved to the mainland China in 2015 by taking a Chair Professorship at Southern University of Science and Technology (SUSTech). In 2015 he was the Vice President (Research), and in 2018 he became the Provost of SUSTech.  In 2019, he became the President of Beijing Normal University – Hong Kong Baptist University United International College.

Professor Tang’s research works in the field of Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing has demonstrated both remarkable depth and breadth. They have profound impact on the understanding of numerical schemes for hyperbolic equations, such as monotone schemes, fractional step methods, adaptive meshing method, spectral method.

 The awards and honours that he has received include the Membership of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2017,  Fellow of American Mathematical Society in 2017, Fellow of SIAM in 2012, the State Natural Science Award  of China in 2016, the Changjiang Chair Professorship by the Ministry of Education of China in 2005, Feng Kang Prize in Scientific Computing in 2003, and the Leslie Fox Prize for Numerical Analysis in 1988. He gave an invited lecture at International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) in 2018.

Professor Tang has been very active in serving the mathematical community at large. He was elected as the President of Hong Kong Mathematical Society from 2008 to 2012. He instrumentally revived the SIAM East Asia section, and served one term as its president. He served as a founding Managing-Editor for Communications in Computational Physics (CiCP) founded in 2006. He is currently an editor-in-chief of Numerical Mathematics: Theory, Methods and Applications (NMTMA). He also served on the editorial boards of leading journals including Mathematics of Computation, SIAM Journal on Numerical Analysis, and Journal of Computational Physics.

Curriculum Vitae